Database A-Z

Get Streaming Videos

Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your online or face-to-face classes. Streaming technology allows you to access high quality video content via the Internet. Instead of downloading an entire video file before viewing it, streaming allows you to begin viewing the video immediately while the rest of the program downloads in the background. The ability to view digital video in real time provides instant access to our entire Films on Demand video collection from any computer with a high-speed Internet connection.  You can project the video onto a screen using a smart classroom equipped with a projection system on any ULV campus.

You can use Films On Demand to search for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, email videos to other ULV students and faculty, or create personal playlists for others to view. You can also integrate videos directly into the university’s BlackBoard course management system.

On the Films On Demand homepage (http://0-fod.infobase.com.leopac.ulv.edu/p_Home.aspx) , you can click on the tabs at the top of the homepage to browse for videos by subject, or browse through special collections, such as BBC, ABC News, or Ken Burns.

For more information about using Films On Demand, check out the Library’s YouTube Channel videos:  http://www.youtube.com/ulvwilsonlibrary.  For assistance or to schedule a librarian to speak to a class or department meeting about this resource, contact Wilson Library http://library.laverne.edu/help/ask-a-librarian/subject-librarian/.

A Multidisciplinary Database

 

Wiley Online Library hosts the world’s broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.

Featuring a clean and simple interface, this online service delivers intuitive navigation, enhanced discoverability, expanded functionalities and a range of personalization and alerting options.

  • Easy-to-Use New Design: Developed in consultation with users to deliver intuitive navigation and easy access to articles, chapters, references, and supplementary information.
  • Enhanced Tools to Discover Relevant Content: Comprehensive search engine optimization ensures easy discoverability of content, delivering relevant and immediate results to users
  • More Ways to Stay Up-to-Date: Content alerts and RSS feeds to keep you updated with the latest published research, including journal tables of contents, EarlyView and AcceptedArticles articles, and search results.

For assistance in using this database, or to schedule a class session or department meeting with a librarian to demonstrate the use of this database, click here.

CQ Researcher

Are you looking for an interesting term paper topic?  The CQ Researcher database is a good place to browse to find topics of current interest, with background information, pro/con debates, and sources for additional information.  Recent topics include Google’s online dominance, college football as amateur athletics vs. training for professional leagues, and fairness in the U.S. student loan process.

CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year by CQ Press, an imprint of SAGE Publications.

Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

CQ Researcher Online offers access to CQ Researcher reports dating back to 1991. PDF files are available for reports from January 1996; color PDFs are available for reports published after January 2001.

CQ Researcher’s predecessor, Editorial Research Reports, was co-founded by Richard M. Boeckel and Bertram Benedict in 1923. As a young Capitol Hill correspondent for the New York Tribune covering the League of Nations debate after World War I, Boeckel realized how little he and his fellow reporters knew about the background of the issues they were following. Because of that “guilty conscience,” as he called it, he enlisted two veteran Washington newsmen, Burt P. Garnett and Homer Dodge, to help him establish Editorial Research Reports. With the first weekly issue, dated September 1, 1923, ERR, as it was called, began providing in-depth reports on important issues of the day to subscribing newspapers, primarily for the benefit of editorial writers. In 1956, Congressional Quarterly purchased Editorial Research Reports and began publishing it under Boeckel’s continued editorial direction and staff. Boeckel served as editor of Editorial Research Report for ten more years – 43 in all. In 1991, the publication’s name was changed to CQ Researcher.

For more information on how to search this database, or to make an appointment with a librarian to provide instruction on the use of this database to a class or faculty meeting, contact a librarian.


Database of the Week

ProquestProQuest Dissertations and Theses — Full text is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research, PQDT — Full Text includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1996 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

More than 70,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations through UMI’s Digital Archiving and Access Program. Full Text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master’s theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT — Full Text provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

For assistance in searching PQDT–Full Text, contact us at Wilson Library.

Database of the Week: JSTOR

JSTOR

JSTOR (jstor.org) is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content on a trusted digital archive of more than one thousand academic journals and one million primary sources.

JSTOR was conceived by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to help university and college libraries struggling to provide adequate space for an ever-growing amount of published scholarship. In 1995, JSTOR was founded as a shared digital library to help academic institutions save costs associated with the storage of library materials and to vastly improve access to scholarship. JSTOR merged with and became of service of ITHAKA (ithaka.org) in 2009, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Portico (portico.org) and Ithaka S+R (ithaka.org/ithaka-s-r).

JSTOR

  • archives and provides access to archival and current issues of more than 1,400 scholarly journals across more than 50 academic disciplines.
  •  includes scholarly journals, conference proceedings, primary source materials, and, launching in 2012, books.
  •  licenses content from a group of more than 800 publishers that includes university presses, commercial publishers, scholarly and professional societies, university departments, independent journals, museums, and libraries.
  •  is dedicated to the long-term preservation and high digitization standards of scholarly materials.

More than 7,000 institutions—higher education institutions, public libraries, community colleges, government and not-for-profit research institutions, museums, secondary schools—from more than 150 countries have access to JSTOR.  More than 90% of participating institutions are medium to very small schools, and organizations that have never had broad access to this content.  JSTOR enables librarians at these institutions to provide their patrons with the resources of a major research library.  More than 990 secondary schools around the world have access to JSTOR. Approximately 30% are public schools.  Fourteen percent (14%) of institutions participate through two special programs that offer free JSTOR access or reduced fees. These programs are our African Access Initiative (AAI) and the Developing Nations Access Initiative (DNAI). Public library participation includes 130 public libraries in 32 countries. Many of these libraries provide remote access to their patrons via library card logins.  New programs such as the Alumni Access Pilot offer ongoing access to graduates.

JSTOR users downloaded more than 74 million articles in 2010, and total accesses of the database (including searches and page views) eclipsed 590 million.

For more information on the JSTOR packages available to the university community, or to schedule a demonstration of JSTOR to a class or department meeting, click here.

Statista Users!!

We are currently having issues with Statista which necessitates having a slightly different log on process than normal. To access Statista, use this link:  http://0-laverne.libguides.com.leopac.ulv.edu/ulv-statista.  You will be asked to log into the library system, and then you will need to click another link to access Statista.

If you have any questions or need further assistance, please email Jennifer Cady.

We apologize for the inconvenience, and are continuing to troubleshoot the issue in hopes to provide you more seamless access to Statista.

La Verne History

Decades of film documenting the history of the University of La Verne, from the video archive of Bill and Charlotte Neill, are available in the Archives and Special Collections of Wilson Library. These detail the history of ULV and the surrounding community. An excellent resources for researchers interested in the school and the city’s past!

These historic films are being made available on the Wilson Library YouTube Channel.

See the Archives & Special Collections playlist to view the chapters individually.

Learn more about the services and resources in the Archives & Special Collections.

Searching for Articles?

Need to find scholarly articles, but aren’t sure where to start? Try using Databases by Subject.  From the homepage, click on Databases by Subject in the tabbed box.

databases-by-subject

Think about the subject area of the class you are taking or is relevant to your research topic. And select a Subject. 
databases-by-subject-2

 

Now you will see a list of “Best Bets” and other relevant databases for your subject area. Select one of the databases with the green Best Bet icons.  

databases-by-subject-3

 

Need Help? The subject librarian’s picture is next to the databases. Click on the picture to get contact information or to book a research appointment online.